Проекты

Savior Transfiguration Monastery

//assets/images/projects/52_ps.jpg

The Transfiguration Monastery is one of the oldest monasteries in Russia. The first time in the pages of the chronicles, he was mentioned under 1096. This was the time of spreading and strengthening the Christian faith on Russian soil. Perhaps there was a fortified residence of the first Murom Prince Hleb.

In the XVI century the monastery was the center of the spiritual life of the city. The walls of the churches were decorated with icons of the best "Bogomaz" of Grozny time. There was a rich library here, the archives of the spiritual department were kept. Unfortunately, as a result of the events of the "Time of Troubles" and the revolutions, much has been lost. Some "monuments of antiquity" fell into private hands, some in the collection of the Murom Museum. In Soviet times, there was a military school on the monastery territory, and then a military unit. In 1995 the monastery was returned to the church, it is actively restored and equipped.

Near the cathedral there is a one-domed Church of the Intercession, built in 1691. Here, in a deep podklet, there is a shrine of the monastery and the city of Murom - the "tomb" of the legendary warrior defender Ilya Muromets with a part of his relics. In 2006, they were transferred from the Kiev-Pechersk Lavra, where the true relics of St. Elijah of Murom are buried. The tomb always has a lot of people. Here you can bow to the hero, see his "portrait", performed by the scientific reconstruction of the sculptor-anthropologist S. Nikitin, to examine the bright murals that illustrate the "life" of Ilya Muromets.

Google Plus
Вконтакте
Одноклассники
Anna Gorskaya curator

Проекты

Спасо-Преображенский монастырь

Спасо-Преображенский монастырь – один из древнейших монастырей на Руси. Первый раз на страницах летописей он упоминается под 1096 г. Это было время распространения и укрепления на русской земле христианской веры. Возможно, здесь была укрепленная резиденция первого муромского князя Глеба.

В XVI столетии монастырь был центром духовной жизни города. Стены храмов украшали иконы лучших «богомазов» грозненского времени. Здесь была богатая библиотека, хранился архив духовного ведомства. К сожалению, в результате событий «Смутного Времени» и революций многое утрачено. Некоторые «памятники древности» попали в частные руки, некоторые ─ в коллекцию Муромского музея. В советское время на монастырской территории находилось военное училище, а затем воинская часть. В 1995 г. монастырь возвращен церкви, он активно реставрируется и обустраивается. 

Рядом с собором стоит одноглавая Покровская церковь, построенная в 1691 г. Здесь, в глубоком подклете, находится святыня обители и города Мурома ─ «гробница» легендарного воина-защитника Ильи Муромца с частицей его мощей. В 2006 г. они были перенесены из Киево-Печерской Лавры, где покоятся подлинные мощи святого Ильи из Мурома. У гробницы всегда много народа. Здесь можно поклониться богатырю, увидеть его «портрет», выполненный по научной реконструкции скульптора-антрополога С. Никитина, рассмотреть яркие настенные росписи, иллюстрирующие «житие» Ильи Муромца. 

Google Plus
Вконтакте
Одноклассники
Анна Алексеевна Горская куратор проекта